Vegan cheeses use a wide assortment of ingredients to make them taste and behave like dairy cheese. According to Eating Well, some are made from cashews, macadamias, and other nuts. Others make use of nutritional yeast, vegetable oils, or coconut oil. Soy, peas, agar, tapioca, various seeds, and starches, derived from root vegetables such as arrowroot, round out the list.
Like regular cheese, vegan cheeses come in a whole variety of flavors. Depending on the variety, vegan cheese can be a flavorful part of a healthy diet. That said, not all cheeses are alike. As with dairy cheese, some plant-based cheeses are more processed or calorically dense than others. Those that are highly processed might add thickeners into their mix such as xanthan gum, carrageenan, and other food-like substances.